ASFS is the organization of African writers, artists, editors, and publishers in science fiction, fantasy, horror, and related genres.

To all ASFS members!
Voting for 7th Nommo Awards 2024 has now closed.

Announcement of winners will be held at the 82nd World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon) to be held in Glasgow, 8-12 August 2024

2024 Nommo Awards Finalists

To access available reading text and author biographies please visit our 2024 finalists dedicated page here.

A Name is a Plea and a Prophecy by Gabrielle Emem Harry

Blackwater Children by

Moustapha Mbacké Diop

Destiny Delayed by

Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki

Kɛrozin Lamp Kurfi by Victor Forna 

Like Stars Daring to Shine by Somoto Iheuze

Loom by Solomon Uhiara

My Mother's Love by Naomi Eselojor 

Osimiri by Chinaza Eziaghighala

The Way of Baa'gh

by Cheryl S. Ntumy

Previous 2022 Nommo Awards Winners

Announced at Chicon8, the World Science Fiction Convention held in Chicago, USA

Ilube Best Novel
Library of the Dead by T L Huchu

Best Novella
Remote Control by Nnedi Okorafor

Best Short Story
Masquerade Season by Pemi Aguda

Best Comic or Graphic Novel
Iyany Child of Wonder by Roye Okupe and Godwin Akpan (artist) 

Our friend, colleague and African SFF writer and supporter, Nick Wood, has passed away. 

We at the ASFS send his family our deep love and condolences as we all mourn the passing of someone who selflessly strove to promote, support and represent Africa on the world stage with dignity and enthusiasm, and with his smile that could light up the galaxy.

Nick Wood (1961-2023)

Illustration: Stephen Embleton


Published Works Database Restored 

 As a valuable resource to both readers and writers of SFF,  the ASFS maintains a list of speculative fiction by African writers here

You can help fill gaps in this list by completing the form here.