Welcome to the African Speculative Fiction Society website.

“The ASFS will create a space for African speculative fiction writers to network, organize, learn from each other, and debate. It will promote an ongoing conversation, led by artists, on Africa's literatures of the imagination."
Sofia Samatar, author of 
A Stranger in Olondria and The Winged Histories



  • BEST NOVEL: The Ilube Award Tade Thompson for 'Rosewater';
  • BEST NOVELLA: Nnedi Okorafor for 'Binti';
  • BEST SHORT STORY: (Tied) Lesley Nneka Arimah with 'Who will Greet You at Home' and Tendai Huchu with 'The Marriage Plot;
  • BEST COMIC OR GRAPHIC NOVEL: Chimurenga's 'Chronic: The Corpse Exhibition and Older Graphic Stories' - Chronic no. 3. Various writers and artists. Edited by Ntone Edjabe. 

WATCH: The first official Nommo Awards at the 2017 Aké Arts & Book Festival, with Nnedi Okorafor, Tom Ilube and Geoff Ryman. 

Video courtesy of Ake Arts & Book Festival

The ASFS is a professional and semi professional body of African writers, editors, publishers, graphic artists and film makers of Speculative Fiction.

Members of the ASFS nominate and vote for the winners in the four categories of the Nommo Awards for Speculative Fiction by Africans.

The vision for the Society is also to become a focus for discussion about SFF in Africa and action to promote it. Our social media presence on Facebook will also be a platform for Members discussion and we will continue to share with the African Fantasy Reading Group on Facebook.

We do not charge a membership fee but we do have running costs for both the AFSF and the Nommo Awards.  Find out more about how to donate to the ASFS and the Nommo Awards.

Press resources including the press release and photos of spokespeople is available here

 As a valuable resource to both readers and writers of SFF, the ASFS maintains a list of speculative fiction by African writers here. You can help fill gaps in this list by completing the form provided here.

ASFS on Facebook
ASFS on Twitter