RESOURCES‎ > ‎

Publishers of Speculative Fiction by Africans

Curated by Ezeiyoke Chukwunonso 

This is a list of venues we know have published speculative fiction by Africans. With one exception all the venues are English language.

It’s based on the List of Published African SFF, also published on the ASFS website. Even though this is not an exhaustive source of where African writers might be able to  place a story, we hope that this list will give you an idea of where to start.

We have divided the list into two parts: Africa first, then the West.

Markets listed in the West are almost always for specific genres. Check out the submission guidelines on their venue’s website.

Apart from the webzine Omenana, the venues in Africa tend to be interested in any story that piques interest and are not devoted to speculative fiction or other genres.

One could argue that this may be due to the lack of publishing opportunities in Africa, that Africa publishing companies are too young to specialize, or that African readers and editors are less concerned with genre boundaries.

Always check both for the kinds of stories sought or theme issues, and for when submission windows open and close.  Some magazines use submission software, so make sure you submit effectively.

Much work these days is originally published in book anthologies.  Keep an eye out in the African Science Fiction and Fantasy Reading Group on Facebook for calls for submissions to anthologies.

Are you a magazine, book, or other kind of publisher who has actually published speculative fiction by Africans?  Not listed here?  Please fill in our publishers list form to be included in the next list. 

African venues:

Afreada  https://afreada.com/submissions/

Afridiaspora https://www.afridiaspora.com/contact/

African Writer https://www.africanwriter.com/submissions/

AmaBooks http://www.amabooksbyo.com/contact/

Bahati Books https://bahatibooks.com/contact/

Blackbird Books http://www.jacana.co.za/publishers/blackbird-books

Black Ghost Books http://blackghostbooks.co.za/about/

Black Letter Media, Long Live the Short Story, http://blog.blackletterm.com/call-for-submissions-2018-short-story-competition/

BrittlePaper https://brittlepaper.com/

Clockwork Books https://clockworkbooks.co.za/submissions/

Chimurenga/The Chronic  https://chimurengachronic.co.za

Dwarts https://dwartsonline.com/submissions/

Enkare https://enkare.org/about/submissions/

Expound magazine http://expoundmagazine.com/submit/

Jalada: a Pan-African writers’ collective  https://jaladaafrica.org/submissions-ja06-afterlife/

Johannesburg Review Of Books https://johannesburgreviewofbooks.com/the-jrb-vol-2-publication-schedule-2018/

­The Munyori Literary Journal http://munyori.org/guidelines/

Omenana https://omenana.com/submissions/

The Kalahari Review https://kalaharireview.com/submissions-63a75f5505bb

Type/Cast https://typecast.org.za/submissions/

Saraba  http://sarabamag.com/submissions/

Short Story Day Africa http://shortstorydayafrica.org/the-ssda-prize/

Sub-Saharan Magazine https://subsaharanmagazine.com/submissions/

Will This Be a Problem http://willthisbeaproblem.co.ke/category/uncategorized/

Writivism anthologies with Black Letter Media http://writivism.com/sundown-and-other-stories-the-writivism-anthology/

The Caine Prize anthologies draw on stories written by participants in the Caine workshops held in Africa.  They have often published speculative fiction by Africans—but you have to be a participant in the workshops.

International venues

The is a list of all genre venues geographically located outside Africa that have published works by Africans, some of them relatively small, others the biggest in the field.

Note that Afrocentric Books, the AfroSF anthology series, Fiyah, Fireside and Hope Road Publishing are specifically for either African writers, black writers or PoC.

Leading Western genre magazines on this list include:  Apex, Asimov’s, Clarkesworld, Lightspeed, (The Magazine of ) Fantasy and Science Fiction, tor.com, and Uncanny.  Most Western journals these days are open to work by Africans.  This is a list of those that have actually published SFF by Africans.

Please go to the submission guidelines on the websites. Note the kinds of stories being accepted or issue themes and when submission windows open and close.

Some big international mainstream journals have published a little SF by Africans, including Nature who published a story by Blaize Kaye and The New Yorker who published two stories by Lesley Nneka Arimah.


Afrocentric Books http://www.mugwumppress.com/afrocentric/contact/

AfroSF anthology series https://twitter.com/AfroSF

AntipodeanSF http://pandora.nla.gov.au/pan/10063/20171120-0002/www.antisf.com.au/submission-guidelines.html

Apex Magazine https://www.apex-magazine.com/submission-guidelines/

Andromeda Spaceways TEMPORARILY OFFLINE http://andromedaspaceways.com/submissions-form/

Anathema Magazine http://www.anathemamag.com/submissions/

Asimov’s Magazine http://www.asimovs.com/contact-us/writers-guidelines/

Brick Moon Press  http://brickmoonentertainment.com/

Beneath Ceaseless Skies http://www.beneath-ceaseless-skies.com/submissions/

Cast of Wonders http://www.castofwonders.org/submissions/

Celenic Earth Publications https://celenicearthpublications.wordpress.com/submissions/

Clarkesworld Magazine http://clarkesworldmagazine.com/submissions/

Cosmic Roots and Eldritch Shores https://cosmicrootsandeldritchshores.com/submissions/

ElectricSpec http://www.electricspec.com/Submissions.html

Escapepod http://escapepod.org/guidelines/short-fiction/

Every Day Fiction https://everydayfiction.submittable.com/submit

Fantasy and Science Fiction https://www.sfsite.com/fsf/glines.htm

(see also The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction)

Fireside Magazine https://firesidefiction.com/submissions

FIYAH Magazine https://www.fiyahlitmag.com/submissions/

Galaxies https://galaxies-sf.com/

Helios Quarterly  https://heliosquarterly.com/index.php/submissions/

Hope Road Publishing https://www.hoperoadpublishing.com/about

International Authors http://internationalauthors.info/submissions.html

Interzone http://ttapress.com/interzone/guidelines/

Lightspeed   http://www.lightspeedmagazine.com/

L0wl1f3 https://l0wl1f3.wordpress.com/submission-guidelines/

Luna Station Quarterly http://lunastationquarterly.com/submissions/

Meta Sagas http://metasagas.com/submissions/

New Orleans Review http://www.neworleansreview.org/submit/

Nightmare Magazine https://johnjosephadams.moksha.io/publication/nightmare/

Parsec Ink http://parsecink.com/submission-guidelines/

Podcastle http://podcastle.org/guidelines/

Robot Dinosaur https://robotdinosaurfiction.com/about/submissions/

Sci Phi Journal NOW CEASED PUBLICATION

Sirens call publications http://www.sirenscallpublications.com/open_subs.htm

Small Beer press http://smallbeerpress.com/about/submission-guidelines/

Space and Time magazine  http://www.spaceandtimemagazine.com/submissions/

Strange Horizons http://strangehorizons.com/submit/

The Dark Magazine http://thedarkmagazine.com/submission-guidelines/

The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction https://www.sfsite.com/fsf/glines.htm

The Manchester Review http://www.themanchesterreview.co.uk/?page_id=231

The Molotov Cocktail https://themolotovcocktail.com/submission-guidelines/

The Offing https://theoffingmag.submittable.com/submit

The Upper Rubber Boot http://www.upperrubberboot.com/about/

Truancy Magazine http://www.truancymag.dreamhosters.com/submissions-guidelines/

Tor.com https://www.tor.com/tag/submissions/

Tor books https://www.tor.com/tag/tor-books/

Uncanny Magazine https://uncannymagazine.com/submissions/

Twelfth Planet Press http://www.twelfthplanetpress.com/submissions

Writers of the Future https://www.writersofthefuture.com/enter-writer-contest/

365tomorrows https://365tomorrows.com/submission/